Community and Practices for Stepping Up in a time of EmergencE/Y

Green Exodus and like-minded partners are coming together to host Earth Jam 2021 during the Season of Creation, an Ecumenical Celebration of prayer and action for the planet. The Season of Creation starts on Sept. 1, the World Day of Prayer for the Care of Creation and ends on Oct. 4, the Feast of St. Francis of Assisi.

The Green Exodus is convening those who, to their surprise, find themselves falling deeply in love with the Earth; profoundly touched by the Earth’s beauty, fragility and mystery. If you would like to support this work, please consider making a contribution.

Gatherings Online and In Place: Sept. 8 to Oct. 8

Earth Jam 2021 is coming to you in four modalities, and will be situated within attention to the four elements: water, fire, earth and air. Due to Covid 19, Earth Jam 2021 events will be held online only. The weekend retreats will include prompts and invitations for solo in-place activities outside, with group conversations happening through Zoom. Details are emerging and may be subject to change. Stay tuned! 

Opening and Closing Ceremonies 

Opening Ceremony Sept. 8, 6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Closing Ceremony Oct. 8, 12 – 1:30 p.m.

Weekend Online/In-Place Retreats 

Zoom and solo activities outside 

20 Sits for the Planet

Make a habit of meditation, like the Earth depends on it.

Living in the Sacred Earth: Discoveries and Conversations 

Eight Zoom sessions, Tuesdays and Thursdays. Come to one or all!

Schedule

OPENING CEREMONY

Intention/Dedication

Sept. 8, 6-7:30 p.m. Zoom


WEEK 1

Theme: Water

20 Sits for the Planet with Liz 

Monday, Sept. 13
6:30-7 p.m. Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Jess 

Tuesday, Sept. 14
8-8:30 a.m. Zoom

Why Meditate?
Panel and Conversation 

Tuesday, Sept 14,
6-7:30 p.m.
Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Pat 

Wednesday, Sept. 15
12-12:30 p.m. Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Jess 

Thursday, Sept. 16
8-8:30 a.m. Zoom

How to Meditate? Overview and Introduction

Thursday, Sept 16,
12-1:30 p.m.
Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Sarah 

Friday, Sept. 17
12-12:30 p.m. Zoom


WEEK 2

Theme: Fire

20 Sits for the Planet with Liz 

Monday, Sept. 20
6:30-7 p.m. Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Jess 

Tuesday, Sept. 21
8-8:30 a.m. Zoom

Seeing the World from Another Center: Teilhard and Contemplation through the Energies of Love

(This event, hosted by Ilia Delio and the Center for Christogenesis, is not officially part of Earth Jam 2021, but an optional supplement to Thursday’s discussion.)

Tuesday, Sept 21,
2-3:30 p.m.
Zoom

The Blue Planet: Rediscovering the Sacred Earth in the Sacred Universe Contemplation and Conversation

Tuesday, Sept 21,
6-7:30 p.m.
Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Pat 

Wednesday, Sept. 22
12-12:30 p.m. Zoom

Promise of Paradox: an Equinox Encounter with Dan Hines, Bogey Boyd and Sandtimer 

Wednesday, Sept 22,
8 p.m.
Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Jess 

Thursday, Sept.23
8-8:30 a.m. Zoom

How it starts is how it continues: God as a Verb Introducing the paradigm shifting ideas of theologain Ilia Delio

Thursday, Sept 23,
12-1:30 p.m.
Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Sarah 

Friday, Sept. 24
12-12:30 p.m. Zoom


WEEK 3

Theme: Earth

20 Sits for the Planet with Liz 

Monday, Sept. 27
6:30-7 p.m. Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Jess 

Tuesday, Sept. 28
8-8:30 a.m. Zoom

TBD

Tuesday, Sept 28,
6-7:30 p.m.
Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Pat 

Wednesday, Sept. 29
12-12:30 p.m. Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Jess 

Thursday, Sept. 30
8-8:30 a.m. Zoom

Orange Shirt/Truth and Reconciliation Day: Righting Relationship 

Thursday, Sept 30,
12-1:30 p.m. Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Sarah 

Friday, Oct. 1
12-12:30 p.m. Zoom


WEEK 4

Theme: Air

Friday, Oct. 1, 7-9p.m. Zoom
Saturday, Oct. 2,
9 a.m. – 4 p.m. Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Liz 

Monday, Oct. 4
6:30-7 p.m. Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Jess 

Tuesday, Oct. 5
8-8:30 a.m. Zoom

What Next: EmergencE and EmergencY? Communities and initiatives

Tuesday, Oct. 5,
12-1:30 p.m.
Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Pat 

Wednesday, Oct. 6
12-12:30 p.m. Zoom

20 Sits for the Planet with Jess 

Thursday, Oct. 7
8-8:30 a.m. Zoom

Book Launch with Victoria Loorz, Church of the Wild: How Nature Invites us into the Sacred

Thursday, Oct. 7,
6-7:30 p.m.
Zoom


CLOSING CEREMONY

Gratitude and Gathering 

Oct. 8, 12 -1:30 p.m. Zoom

the team